Challenge #4

The Challenge: During this time period, I resolve to eat three meals per day.

The History: I can’t remember the last time I ate like I should on a regular basis. I want to eat like a normal person, that means breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a snack. Currently, my eating schedule is erratic. I work the 3-11:30 PM shift, so I tend to get up at 10 in the morning, watch some TV or use the computer while picking at some sort of convenient food. I go back to bed around 11 AM and sleep until about 12:30 or 1:00 PM. When I get up, I spend my time getting ready for work, and then I leave at 1:45 PM. On the way to work, I’ll stop at Dunkin’ and pick up a coffee, sometimes I’ll grab a donut or pastry to go with it. I’ll get to work at 2:30 and then I won’t eat until 7:30 PM. At that time, I’ll have one of my Lean Cuisines and maybe a bag of Fritos from the vending machine. If I get hungry while I’m working, I may stop at the shop that sells baked treats, like cookies, pastries, and cakes. When I finally get home at around 12:20, I usually fix myself a snack, like cookies or cheese and crackers.

The Reasons: I’ve heard that people who eat three meals per day, without skipping a meal, tend to be healthier than those who avoid certain meals or eat erratically, like myself. Think about it, when you skip meals, you’re body feels starved, so the next time you allow yourself to eat, you’ll most likely overeat. You will feel the need to shovel food into your mouth, mindlessly eating whatever is convenient.

The Benefits: Hopefully, this simple change to my diet will help me to lose weight and really gauge when I’m physically hungry as opposed to emotionally hungry. 

The Plan: This will be a bit difficult. For one thing, I’ll have to allow myself more time in the morning which means, I’ll have to wake up earlier just so I can eat. It’s always most difficult on the first day. As I progress, it will be much easier to adjust to this new schedule.

I’ve already completed the other part of this plan, and that part involved purchasing food. I went to the store last night and selected things that I could eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks.

The Time Period: I’d like to work on this challenge for two weeks.

 

Taken today: this is what I want to change.

 

 

Leave a Reply

