Stick With What Works

From the start of this blog, I’d always intended to strive for a healthy lifestyle.  If you’ve read some of my posts, you’ll see that I’ve often tried but failed.  This time, I’m hoping to stick with my choice.

Earlier today, I re-joined Weight Watchers.  I haven’t attended a meeting yet, I just signed up and paid for a monthly pass online.  I plan to go to my first meeting next week.  I’ve been a member of Weight Watchers several times in the past, and I’ve been on the email list.  This week I received an email offer from WW, I could get my first month of my membership for 50% off.  I figured it was a good deal, so I joined.

I’ve had a long history with WW.  My first experience was when I was a junior in high school.  I joined with my mother in the fall of that year and by the spring, I had lost about 35 pounds.  Of course, when I started, I didn’t weigh anything near what I weigh now.  In fact, I would be much happier if I now weighed 175.  That was my starting weight in high school.  I believe I lost about 35-40 pounds during that time.  My next WW experience came in the summer prior to my junior year of college.  Once again, I lost a significant amount of weight.

Since those two successful periods, I experienced a great deal of disappointment.  It wasn’t because WW didn’t work, it was because I didn’t do the work to lose the weight.  Weight Watchers does work, I’m proof of that .  The trick is sticking to it.

I have a co-worker who joined this August and she has already lost over 50 pounds!  She’s my inspiration.  She’s been working hard and it shows.  I’m envious whenever I hear someone ask her, “how much weight have you lost?”  I want to be that person. 

Next week, I’ll start my journey to a better, healthier life.  I’ll need all the encouragement I can get.  I hope to share my success with you!

Leave a Reply

