A Successful Day All Around

As you are aware, earlier today, I went to my Weight Watchers meeting.  I lost .4 pounds today.  I know, .4 pounds isn’t very good, but for someone who has had a “bad week” (I’m sure everyone who’s been on a diet knows what I’m talking about here), .4 pounds is a triumph.  Including the week that I was a WW member but I hadn’t attended a meeting, I’ve lost 10.4 pounds.  It’s exciting!  Also, I logged into my online medical record and discovered that I currently weigh 10 pounds less than I did one year ago!

This coming week, I’ve every intention of really putting my all into the WW plan.  Tracking is a necessity, as is having safe food around.  Over this past week, I had run out of food to bring to work and I had to buy food at my job.  I’m certain that it is part of the reason I did not do as well as I should have.  But, I’m glad to say that today I was off from work and was able to go on a grocery run to Target.  I feel so much better when I have healthy food in the house.

I’d also like to add that today, I rejoined Netflix.  I was bored this evening and was looking for something to watch.  As usual, there are hundreds of movies available On Demand, but nothing I want to watch.  After searching the internet for free places to watch movies (and being bombarded with malware as a result), I decided to suck it up and pay the $7.99/month for Netflix.  I’d had it before and enjoyed it, but I cancelled it because I really didn’t use it as often as I should have for the money I was paying.

Anyway, I rejoined tonight because I’ve been really interested in seeing “The Walking Dead”. I didn’t want to start watching the show during the middle of the third season (because that is all I could get for free On Demand), so I was excited to find out that the show streams on Netflix.  I’ve been hearing so much about this show for awhile now and I felt out of the loop.  Well, I’d like to just add that I’ve watched the first 3 episodes and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it.  I can’t wait to see more! Very suspenseful!

In other news, the FWB hasn’t texted me in over a month.  I think he probably met a girl that he wants to pursue something long-term with.  I’m sort of neutral about the whole situation. On one hand, it does make me feel kind of bad that he never texted me for closure and I’m slightly jealous that someone likes him and no one is interested in me.  But on the other hand, I am glad to be free of feeling the need to sext him boob pics and dirty talk, knowing that he doesn’t really like me.  Plus, it’s not like I liked him that much.  I needed (and still need) someone to comfort me, but I don’t want to feel like a doormat.

Finally, I need to talk about the major events that took place since late Thursday night.  Though, first, I need to tell you that I am a resident of Massachusetts.  I don’t live anywhere near Boston, in fact, I live less than 10 minutes from Rhode Island.  If you know the state, you might have a good idea of my locale.

Let me tell you, today was a day filled with a multitude of emotions.  As you should be well aware, earlier this week, two bombs went off during the Boston Marathon.  Three people were killed and 176 were injured.  I have no idea how, but by Thursday evening, suspects had been identified in grainy security cam photographs.  I am shocked at how quickly the events panned out.

On Thursday night, approximately 10 PM Eastern time, a Massachusetts Institute of Technology police officer was shot and killed during a shoot-out with the suspects whose pictures were released just hours before.  A Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority officer was injured in the gunfire.  One of the suspects was killed in the shoot-out.

Friday morning, all news stations were covering the events and Boston area businesses and schools were on lock-down.  It was scary to see.  The pictures that were posted from Watertown (the area that law enforcement was most focused on) residents were truly shocking.  There were images of swat teams entering homes, snipers on roof-tops, military vehicles on the streets, and a deserted Boston.  I’ve never seen anything like it.  I live a good distance from there.  I can’t imagine how it must have been for residents.

There was good news by Friday night though.  Shortly after the news reported that the lock-down was lifted and the suspect had been lost, they reported that the suspect had been found alive but injured in a boat in one Watertown resident’s backyard.  The suspect was apprehended alive and brought to the hospital.

It was very exciting to see residents cheering on law enforcement when the arrest was announced.  Though I wasn’t there, I could feel the relief erupting from the people who had come to see the action.  So now, I’d like to publicly thank everyone who worked hard today to keep us safe.  I’ve never understood the magnitude of an event such as this until I’ve actually seen it happen so close to home.  I am proud to say that I live in Massachusetts and I am proud that so many people worked so tirelessly to get the job done.  Thank you for protecting us.  And finally, I’d like to leave my condolences for those who’ve lost someone in the tragic events that took place this week.  I’m going to end by sharing the picture that left the biggest impact on me today.

One thought on “A Successful Day All Around

Leave a Reply

